Complete Guide to ITIL4® Certification




ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It plays the role of managing the delivery of IT services everywhere in the world. ITIL represents the processes of design, support, development, and delivery of IT services. ITIL V3 is the current ITIL version.

The Industries that adapt ITIL method, ensure the consistent delivery of services in a well-structured process that makes use of best practice. It leads to the production of desirable results which helps in fulfilling the satisfaction of customers. This method helps in the reduction and minimisation of service and development cost. The meet the customers’ requirements by constant delivery of services and adapting to the constant changes in requirements of business.


Certifications of ITIL® 


There are various types of Information Technology Infrastructure Library Certifications which are suitable for various range of career requirements such as:


ITIL Foundation Certification The ITIL Foundation Certifications helps you with learning the basics of ITIL. It is the most basic and easy level of certification for beginners. It has all the information on the fundamental knowledge of ITIL. It does not have any prerequisites which makes it available for anyone to take. This course can be taken as an online course and also in-person course. These training courses can be completed before appearing for the ITIL Foundation certification exam.


Exam format 


It consists of 40 multiple choice-based questions with a time limit of 1 hour. It requires 26 correct answers to pass the exam.


  1. ITIL Practitioner certification

ITIL Practitioner certification is the test of the practical knowledge of ITIL steps and the basic principles which are used in everyday life. It also teaches the candidates on how to make use of ITIL method to carry the organisation’s objectives. Candidates also learn how to adapt to the constant change in business requirements. It is not required at professional level; it is considered as the next step to the foundation certificate. As it helps the candidates to adapt and also make use of the ITIL framework. The classroom training of ITIL will go on for one and a half days. The examination occurs at the end of the training. The course or training can be taken as an online course or even self-study.


Exam Format 

  • It contains multiple based questions.
  • It has a total of 40 questions.
  • It requires at least 28 marks to pass.
  • The time limit of the exam is 135 minutes.
  • In this exam the candidates are allowed to use the ITIL® Practitioner Guidance.


  1. ITIL Intermediate certification 


ITIL Intermediate certification teaches the various aspects of IT service management. It is a module-based certification. The modules are divided into two categories such as Service Lifestyle and Service Capability. It contains variety of modules under these categories. The modules included in those categories are:


  • The Service Lifecycle Modules – Service Strategy (SS), Service Design (SD), Service Transition (ST), Continual Service Improvement (CSI) and Service Operation (SO).
  • The Service Capability Modules – Planning, Protection and Optimisation (PPO), Operational Support and Analysis (OSA), Release, Control and Validation and Service offerings (RCV) and Agreements (SOA).


You can choose modules from each of the category or even only form one category. It needs at least two years of IT service management experience. You’ve to complete the training course under any reputed training organisation to appear for ITIL intermediate certification exam.


  1. ITIL Expert Certificate


ITIL Expert Certificate provides the candidates with in-depth knowledge about ITIL practices and processes. It is an advanced level certificate. To qualify for ITIL Expert Certificate, you require a total of 17 credits from other certifications such as the Foundation, Intermediate and Practitioner Certificates. You also need to pass the Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) exam, which adds up to a total of 22 credits. After gaining this certificate you’ll be well aware of the entire ITIL framework and will also acquire an in-depth knowledge about ITIL management and services.

The MALC exam contains of multiple choice-based questions. It has 10 questions per paper and the required mark to pass the exam is 35 out of 50.


  1. ITIL Master 


ITIL Master certification ensures the ability to use or utilise the ITIL framework in the real-life situations. This certification contains almost all the ITIL principles.


Hence, ITIL can be an incredible choice for improving your career path. It can make your resume look a lot more attractive to the recruiters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *